comment 1

Norma Philpott blogs on the launch of the CARF change team

bbd icons new-07Although the team from Better by Design have been with us for a while now, and Karen and Richard have been spotted in various places from Kirkcaldy to Buckhaven, it looked as if a few of us were still a bit nervous when we turned up for the first meeting of our new change team…

Perhaps nervous isn’t the right word for everyone around the table, but I don’t think anyone was sure of what to expect. We had all had been to at least one meeting or workshop and had experienced how the Better by Design team were encouraging us to work. But it’s always difficult to overcome that slightly depressing feeling of anxiety when faced with a pile of ‘post-its’, some sharpies and a very blank, very big wall. Oh dear…how are we going to fill this?

I think everyone gets that feeling, but from what I experienced, it didn’t take long for us to warm up. Dare I say it, I think the team rose well to the challenge! The change team at CARF are from all corners of the organisation and I like to think that we’re a diverse bunch when it comes to our thinking. I remember hearing at the start of this journey that it was about getting everyone involved, so I’m glad to see how people from right across CARF are getting engaged with the work.

This might sound a bit strange, but there’s never enough time in a busy job and giving time up to go and think about the future can bring with it some feelings of guilt! But I’m beginning to see a change in people’s attitudes through the eyes of the change team. I think we’re getting more comfortable with all of it…getting a better grasp of the design context, seeing it as an iterative process and becoming more confident in using the new tools. I think there’s also a general realisation that, if we want to get to where we want to be in the future, we’ve got to do the work! I know there are strong characters in CARF’s change team, and as they adapt to their new ‘freedom’ to work together in this way, they will very quickly see their ability to represent the whole organisation in influencing the future.

So, on to the next workshop. There is a bit of buzz around the work (homework?) we’ve been doing since, in the time in between, and I know that there are going to be a few ‘quick fixes’ to talk about already. For me, that’s good, because I sense there are many changes ahead of CARF, so getting started on them early makes sense!

1 Comment so far

Leave a Reply

